I Got The Moves Like Kate Forsyth

Published November 23, 2011 by electricbluegaloo

 

I got the moves like Kate Forsyth, I got the moves like Kate Forsyth, I got the mooooo-oooves like . . . well you get the rest of it.

If you have read my previous post you will realise that I hold Australian fantasy childrens (and sometimes adult) novelist Kate Forsyth in very high regard. I first met Kate when Kennisha was just three months old. I attened a writer’s festival at the NSW Writer’s Centre and was blown away by Kate’s poise, grace and thourough grasp of her chosen genre, I wanted to be her (still do). Over the next couple of weeks (or maybe months, it was a very sleep deprived time) I managed to go along to a few more of Kate’s public talks and read some of her books. I discovered that she is not only a very talented writer, but also a mum to three kids, I wanted to be her kids.

Three and a half years later I am still in great awe of Kate and her ability to accomplish so much within the same 24 hour time period we all have.

I have come to accept that while I will never be her, or her kids, I can make use of the advice she shares at her public talks

Primarily for me, this inspiration takes the form of two points she made: Aim for the moon. Even if you don’t reach it you will fall among the stars. And more practically to write every day, even if you don’t feel like it. Actually, I’m not sure that last one is exactly how she put it, but it’s my own interpretation, and I managed to write something today.

Thanks for taking the time to read my little offering for the day.

4 comments on “I Got The Moves Like Kate Forsyth

  • Thank you so much for your lovely post! I’m so glad I’ve helped inspire you (and I think it’s hilarious that you wish you were one of my kids – I’m sure you wouldn’t think so if you saw me on my ‘clean up your room’ rampage). I also love that quote about falling among stars – it was always my mum’s advice to me and I find it really inspiring too. Good luck wtih your wriitng and please feel free to check out my website at http://www.kateforsyth.com.au – though if you waity a week or two you’ll see the beautiful new one which I’vebeen busy designing!
    all my best
    Kate
    PS: its not rally creepy that I know you’ve been talking about me – I have Google Alerts set up 🙂

    • Thanks Kate. I am so excited that you commented on my post, and while I might not have enjoyed your telling me to clean up my room any more than I did when my own mother told me to, I always remember you saing your little girl following her brothers around in a green cape, but at the time they were into spy books so she also carried a gun and said “stop or I’ll shoot’, so you stopped, and then she shot you anyway. My girls are now 18 months and almost 4 but I can see they will be as into books as the Forsyth and Murrell children ever were.
      I will wait a bit to see the new website, and am really excited to read Bitter Herbs – I have always loved Rapunzel and I am sure you will treat her with the dignity she, and the readers deserve.

  • Leave a Reply

        Write or Wrong

    Uninspiration for the uninspired

    positivewordsmagazine

    For Creative Writers Everywhere...

    Kirsten Krauth

    Novelist, Blogger, Wild Colonial Girl

    The Booktopian

    Booktopia Blog

    Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

    Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

    Spilling Ink

    Delights for readers and writers of kidlit

    Digireado

    All about digital pubishing....

    The Lupine Librarian

    Trying to make the world more beautiful

    Hiring Librarians

    An inside look at library hiring

    Pookey's bog

    fantasy and scifi sekrits

    Poetry and tips by...

    children's poet - Jackie Hosking

    William Kostakis

    author of Loathing Lola

    We love YA

    and we talk about it!

    Bug in a Book

    Celebrating Literacy for Everyone

    Authentic Literacy Instruction

    Where school meets the real world

