My Confession

Published November 26, 2011 by electricbluegaloo

So I’m about to blow any credibility I could ever have developed by admitting that I like Twilight. I claimed to ‘bug in a book’ that it was the best book I read last year, and that was probably going too far but there is something about the mindless escapism that appeals to me and let’s face it, millions of others out there.
So what is it about the series, the story, the sensation that is so appealing? A quick straw poll among my girlfriends reveals that it’s not Meyer’s agonizing prose, or even the apparently irresistible charm of either edward or Jacob.
Is it, as so many middle aged Twi-hards claim, that we just want to be loved the way Edward loves Bella? Not on your Nelly. To my mind that type of destructive co-dependance should have died out with the Montagues and Capulets.

My sources concur that it is the escapism that we love.
The last one, um . . . Breaking Dawn, isn’t it? That’s my favourite because it is pure, undistilled escapism: fast cars, high fashion, vampires with super powers and an epic battle that could seriously mean the destruction of any one of the main characters, I mean anything goes after JK Rowling famously killed off Dumbledor et al.
Tbc (Miss 3’s Ballet class has finished)

5 comments on “My Confession

    • Because I love Twilight, I think I might even give these types of books a go. It’s a shame that u lose the wonder of the writing in them but the picture sort-of makes up for part of it. Thanks for the link!

  • Leave a Reply

        Write or Wrong

    Uninspiration for the uninspired

    positivewordsmagazine

    For Creative Writers Everywhere...

    Kirsten Krauth

    Novelist, Blogger, Wild Colonial Girl

    The Booktopian

    Booktopia Blog

    Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

    Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

    Spilling Ink

    Delights for readers and writers of kidlit

    Digireado

    All about digital pubishing....

    The Lupine Librarian

    Trying to make the world more beautiful

    Hiring Librarians

    An inside look at library hiring

    Pookey's bog

    fantasy and scifi sekrits

    Poetry and tips by...

    children's poet - Jackie Hosking

    William Kostakis

    author of Loathing Lola

    We love YA

    and we talk about it!

    Bug in a Book

    Celebrating Literacy for Everyone

    Authentic Literacy Instruction

    Where school meets the real world

