To typo or not to typo

Published December 1, 2011 by electricbluegaloo

I absolutely love the post I read this week about typos, and it is so relevant as I have been asking myself about that very same thing since I began this blog. One of the first people to read my blog was a teacher librarian friend of mine whom (or who, I’m not sure) I adore, but she has this comic book super hero ability to spot typos at 50 paces.

I thanked her kindly for pointing them all out to me, and was left wondering if she’d found anything I said even vaguely interesting (fortunately Kate Forsyth did so that was something really special).

Obviously my TL BFF is way out of date, and so am I having only just come across the post – Penelope Trunk wrote this  in 2008! A cyber-century ago.  Were iPads even around then? When I tried to re-find the post I discovered 14,400,000 results for typos.  And ebay was even trying to sell them to me.

However, if I learned anything from my time with the Children’s Book Council it is that there are people out there who love to make a meal of the details. And these are people in positions of power within the world of children’s literature.

I have to side with the let-typos-be-in-blogs camp. I am a working mother of two preschool aged children and I am about to start studying for a Master’s Degree.  As if that wasn’t enough I have also started a frikking fantastic blog which requires 500-1000 words of inspiration per day.  I read blogs, and I notice that there are quite a few typos that make it through, but I am sure that there are plenty that I never even notice. 

The ones I do notice are the grammatical mistakes. 

I’m sorry to say this, but maybe you and I need to slow down a bit, and read lovingly what we expect others to lovingly read.  It does bother me when I see mistakes, and the ones that show you have barely glanced at your own work are the ones that irk me. 

And this is a good time to bring up something that has been bothering me quite substantially.  If you have read my earlier posts you will know that Oliver Phommavahn is someone I consider a master of the written and spoken word. However, and I take a deep breath before I say this because I actually know Oliver and think he is wonderful . . . HOWEVER . . .  I almost stopped reading his latest book Con-Nerd at page . . . I can’t findwhich page it was and I have to finish this and get ready for school tomorrow so you’ll just have to accept that it was right at the start . . . because there were already two grammatical mistakes!  This was in a published book.  I can, and do, accept it in a blog, but not in a book, you naughty little bird.  Penguin, pull your finger out.  There.  I said it.  And I feel so much better.

While blogs and self published ebooks can get away with it, I don’t think publishers should.

I am glad I finished Con-Nerd.  There were only three glaring errors I came across, and the book was more than worth it in the end.

I also recommend you check out Oliver’s website in the links to the right.

If there are any typos, spellos or grammos in this or any other post on ELECTRICBLUEGALOO etc please address your complaints to the gremlins in my computer.

Leave a Reply

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

positivewordsmagazine

For Creative Writers Everywhere...

Kirsten Krauth

Novelist, Blogger, Wild Colonial Girl

The Booktopian

Booktopia Blog

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Spilling Ink

Ali Stegert - Kidlit Writer - Word Herder - Book Hoarder

Digireado

All about digital pubishing....

The Lupine Librarian

Trying to make the world more beautiful

Hiring Librarians

An inside look at library hiring

Pookey's bog

fantasy and scifi sekrits

Poetry and tips by...

children's poet - Jackie Hosking

William Kostakis

author of Loathing Lola

We love YA

and we talk about it!

Bug in a Book

Celebrating Literacy for Everyone

Authentic Literacy Instruction

Where school meets the real world

