How Time Flies (and I want to clip her wings)

Published January 23, 2012 by electricbluegaloo

I have just received a reminder that The Sydney Writers’s Centre is hosting a course on writing for children and young adults in the very near future.
OMG! How could this possibly be? I set this reminder 12 months ago. I have several possible explanations, the most likely being that I have somehow slipped down the time spiral which is why the year has passed with such astonishing speed and I could never have been expected to write an entire novel when that crazy pith happenes.
I also considered the possibility that the government is using my goodess-like body for secret missions, then wiping my memory. Could happen.
The least likely scenario is that I just got distracted by modern mummyhood and didn’t put aside one red cent to pay for the course which I was sure I’d be able to do this year.
For argument’s sake let’s peruse this last scenario. Assuming financial limitations are to blame I am going to make up my birthday/Christmas/spontaneous acts of kindness wishlist right now (hint hint any readers who are related to me).
1. Contributions to any course taught by Dr Judith Ridge, Kate Forsyth or similar
2. On Writing by Stephen King or similar. I know I can get them from the library but these are needed as reference materials at hand at all times.
3. Membership of nsw writer’s centre, Aust. Society of Authors or other appropriate organisations.
4. Tickets to cool events at the Sydney Writer’s Festival.
So to all my loyal readers who are writers and in a similar fiscal boat why don’t you make your list too and subtly leave it stuck to the fridge like I’m about to do. Drop me a comment and let me know if I’ve left anything off- Christmas is only 11 months away.

Leave a Reply

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

positivewordsmagazine

For Creative Writers Everywhere...

Kirsten Krauth

Novelist, Blogger, Wild Colonial Girl

The Booktopian

Booktopia Blog

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Spilling Ink

Delights for readers and writers of kidlit

Digireado

All about digital pubishing....

The Lupine Librarian

Trying to make the world more beautiful

Hiring Librarians

An inside look at library hiring

Pookey's bog

fantasy and scifi sekrits

Poetry and tips by...

children's poet - Jackie Hosking

William Kostakis

author of Loathing Lola

We love YA

and we talk about it!

Bug in a Book

Celebrating Literacy for Everyone

Authentic Literacy Instruction

Where school meets the real world

