No Explanation Needed

Published June 26, 2014 by electricbluegaloo

I have finally managed to get hold of “The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making” (downloaded it onto my phone from Audible) and it is a breath of fresh green air. I’m only up to chapter 5 so there will be no spoiler alerts but I just have to share. I am so excited by it because in many ways it is exactly the book I have been trying to write for so long. I love the fact that there is no explanation (thus far anyway) for many of the peculiarities of Fairyland and its inhabitants. It is written in such a way as to give the reader a lot of credit for firstly, having a robust imagination and secondly, being able to find explanations when and where necessary. I say this is the kind of book I have been trying to write because it is similar to the imagined world my characters inhabit. When I had finished my session with Kate Forsyth last month I was so glad she didn’t ask certain questions like “Why this?” and “Why that?”, and as she was the one who recommended I “The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making” I can see why she was able to accept some of my characters just as they are. I think I have been reading so many standard story structures that I forgot a story written in this way is possible. I let Kate know from the beginning that the narrative voice was the thing I was most struggling with, but having started to read TGWCFiaSoHOM I can see why she told me to let it go. I really appreciate advice from extremely knowledgeable and experienced writers and others in the field, but sometimes I feel like these checklists are a bit like trying to write by numbers. I’m not saying they can go hang, but it is important to remember not to try to fit a round peg into a square hole.

I have just watched the trailer for the new hunger games and it pretty much reminded me of everything that annoyed me about “Mockingjay”.

The bloody blood and roses smell. If I didn’t need to know, if I accepted it as “just is” in the first book, then don’t mess it up by explaining it later. I do think there was a bit of second guessing, the old “second album” jitters and pretenciousness about Mockingjay. Anyhoo. Back to writing my own masterpiece of creative fiction.

Leave a Reply

Write or Wrong

Uninspiration for the uninspired

positivewordsmagazine

For Creative Writers Everywhere...

Kirsten Krauth

Novelist, Blogger, Wild Colonial Girl

The Booktopian

Booktopia Blog

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Spilling Ink

Ali Stegert - Kidlit Writer - Word Herder - Book Hoarder

Digireado

All about digital pubishing....

The Lupine Librarian

Trying to make the world more beautiful

Hiring Librarians

An inside look at library hiring

Pookey's bog

fantasy and scifi sekrits

Poetry and tips by...

children's poet - Jackie Hosking

William Kostakis

author of Loathing Lola

We love YA

and we talk about it!

Bug in a Book

Celebrating Literacy for Everyone

Authentic Literacy Instruction

Where school meets the real world

